Contributions to community recognised at LPS Australia Day Awards

Liverpool Plains Shire celebrated Australia Day and the contribution of community members at the official Awards Ceremony held at the Royal Theatre Quirindi.

Nominations for awards are submitted by community members. Winners of the Shire’s Australia Day Awards are:

  • Citizen of the Year - Kim Lawlor
  • Young Citizen of the Year - Nicholas Hamblin
  • Marie Maunder Community Service Award - Werris Creek War Memorial Swimming Pool 50 year Anniversary Committee
  • Local Legend - Ken Cronin
  • Emergency Services Community Award – Toby Dewick
  • Sportsperson of the Year – Anna Smith
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year - Annabelle Avard

Australia day awards 2019

Picture 1 - (L – R) Mr Pavan Singh and Miss Avalina Singh, Ms Nevenka Jovanovic, Mrs Hannah Hatfield and Miss Katherine Endicott were welcomed as citizens of Australia.

Picture 2 - Ambassador Josephine Peter and Mayor Andrew Hope

Picture 3 - (L – R) LPSC Deputy Mayor Paul Moules, GM Ron Van Katwyk and Mayor Andrew Hope congratulate John Reilly (centre) and present him with his special award. Bruce Gowing was unable to attend the ceremony

Picture 4 - Winners are grinners at the LPS Australia Day Awards


Australia Day Ambassador Josephine Peter, her daughter Professor Dimity Peter, LPSC Mayor Councillor Andrew Hope, Deputy Mayor, Councillor Paul Moules, Councillor Ian Lobsey OAM, Councillor Doug Hawkins OAM, Councillor Ken Cudmore, Councillor Virginia Black, and LPSC GM Ron Van Katwyk comprised the official party and Jason Allen delivered the Welcome to Country.

Apologies were received from Councillor Rob Webster, Barnaby Joyce MP, Michael Johnsen MP and Kevin Anderson MP.

Mayor Hope welcomed the guests, nominees and community members to the event and highlighted the fact that the day marks 70 years since the Nationality and Citizenship Act 1948 came into effect. Councillor Hope then introduced Australia Day Ambassador Josephine Peter who presented an interesting account of her seven decades of volunteering which saw her recognised as the NSW Local Hero of the Year in 2017. Ms Peter also shared some interesting stories about the history of her hometown, Broken Hill, and its mining industry plus highlighting the satisfaction that volunteering brings.

Opening Hours

Monday to Friday:

8.30AM - 5.00PM

Sat to Sun: Closed

Public Holidays: Closed


Physical Address

60 Station Street

Quirindi NSW



Postal Address

PO Box 152

Quirindi NSW


Contact Details

Phone: 02 6746 1755

Fax: 02 6746 3255


After Hours Emergency: 02 6746 1755